How can we help?

Simultaneous streams limit reached

There are a few reasons why you might see an error message like the one below when trying to watch NOW:

 

You've reached the maximum number of simultaneous streams

 

If you're trying to watch on 2 devices at once, but you don't have Boost, you'll either need to stop watching on the other device or upgrade to Boost. Find out more about Boost

If this doesn't apply to you, because you're only trying to watch on one device or because you've got Boost, check out these possible causes and what you can do to fix the problem:

 

Possible cause

Explanation

How can I fix it?

Someone else is currently streaming using your accountAnother member of your household could be watching, or maybe you shared your account with someone else.Check the Devices area of My Account to see what devices are in use. See the steps in the box below if you need to remove someone's access.
You were recently watching on a different deviceOur system hasn't yet registered that you've stopped watching on the other device.When you stop watching on your first device, make sure you exit the show or movie you were watching rather than just pressing pause, turning off the TV or closing the app. This will signal that the stream has ended.
If you don't do this, you might need to wait up to 10 minutes before you can start watching on another device.
You've recently added Boost, but your account isn't reflecting this yetIf you've added Boost via our website, your account could take up to 4 hours to update. (This won't apply if you added Boost via your Smart Stick, Box, smart TV, PlayStation or Xbox.)You can check if your account's updated by heading to My Account. If Boost is showing as active there, you're good to go. If not, you can trigger your account to update by signing out and signing back in again.
Your browser or computer crashed during playbackOur system thinks you're still watching.Try waiting 10 minutes before watching again. 
How can I stop someone else from watching on my account?

Shared your NOW details with someone, but don't want them to use your account any more? The quickest and easiest thing to do is to contact the person and ask them to stop watching.

If you can't get hold of them, you could try changing your password and forcing a logout for all devices. (Changing your password alone won't  prevent them from watching, because they'll remain signed in). 

Follow the steps here to reset your password, and when you get to the Manage permissions page, select the NOW option(s) and click Remove.

Just be aware that if you do this, you might need to reset your device before you can play out. It can take some time to set up your device again, so you might not want to do it 5 minutes before a live match! Find out how to reset your NOW Box or Smart Stick

 

Did you find this helpful?

Feedback